Why can I only follow someone on Facebook and not friend them?

One reason the follow is the least visible type of relationship is because it’s not enabled by default. For users with strict privacy settings, they will have to implement follows on their profile to enable it. In order to do this, you need to click the drop-down arrow in the top right of Facebook and click settings.

What does it mean on Facebook when you can only follow someone?

To follow the person or the page, tap on “Follow”. If you don’t see a “Follow” option, it means that the person has disabled it via their privacy settings. If that’s the case, the only way that you can follow them is to be their friend on Facebook.

Why does it say follow instead of message on Facebook?

It means that the person chose not to add you, and they’ve made their settings to put rejected requests as “followers” of their page. It only gives you access to their public posts and information. There is an option on people’s profile to follow. This does not require an accepted friend request.

IT IS IMPORTANT:  Why isn't my relationship status on Facebook?

How can someone follow you on Facebook if they are not your friend?

If you let people who aren’t your friends follow you, people who send friend requests that you ignore or delete will automatically start following you. If you don’t want someone to follow you, you can block them at any time.

Why does it say follow and not add friend?

It’s simply a follow that piggybacks on the friend request. … This makes it so that you don’t see their posts in your feed, but you still remain friends and can still interact with them within the privacy settings they have set for their friends. This happens quite frequently, in fact.

How do I make my Facebook follow only?

Here’s how to turn on the Follow button on your personal profile:

  1. Click the down arrow in the upper-right corner of Facebook. …
  2. Select Settings.
  3. Click Followers on the left sidebar.
  4. Select Everybody from the drop-down menu next to the Who Can Follow Me section.

How do you know if someone has rejected your friend request?

Look at the gray button next to the person’s name. If the button reads “Friend Request Sent,” the person has not yet accepted or declined your friend request. If the button reads “+1 Add Friend,” the person denied your friendship request.

What’s the difference between followers and following on Facebook?

Finally, as we’ve mentioned, followers are people who have opted to receive updates from a person or page. The important distinction is that “following” is a separate action from the other two relationships. So, you can follow a page you haven’t “liked”, and you can choose to “like” a page and not follow its updates.

IT IS IMPORTANT:  How do I reduce the font size on Instagram?

Do deleted friend requests automatically become followers?

People who send you Facebook friend requests that you ignore or delete will automatically start following you. If you don’t want someone to follow you, you can block them at any time. But remember when you unblock, that person will be able to see your posts on Facebook that you share with the public.

Can you stalk someone on Facebook without them knowing?

Your stalkee will never receive a notification from Facebook that you have seen their profile, what you looked at on their profile, or how much time you spent on their profile; those Facebook apps that claim to show users who have looked at their profiles are pretty much scams.

Can you follow a friend on Facebook without them knowing?

Yes, when you follow a public figure or a non-friend, a notification will be send to them. No, unfollowing or re-following any friend will not send notification to that person.

How do I know if someone blocked me on Facebook?

Check Your Friends List. A fast way to see who’s blocked you on Facebook is to check your friends list. Simply put, if the person you suspect has blocked you doesn’t show up in your Facebook friends list, then you’ve been unfriended or blocked. If they do appear in your list, then you’re still friends.

When you reject a friend request does that person automatically become a follower if so can you reject a follower?

When you receive a Facebook friend request from someone and you either ignore it or delete it, the person sending it automatically becomes a ‘follower’, meaning, they see when you post something new, a photograph, comments and updated bio provided those updates are posted publicly.

IT IS IMPORTANT:  How many GB does it take to upload a YouTube video?